Just a Light Breeze

tssearnslaw

The lower deck of the TSS Earnslaw on Lake Wakatipu, after leaving Queenstown, New Zealand.

highlandcow

A highland cow (well, bull? steer? anyway, it’s a dude obviously) feeling right at home on Walter Peak Farm. (Across the lake from Queenstown.)

queenstownwharf

Yikes! Back on dry land, supposedly… the wind never seemed to quit, and if it wasn’t raining, the lake was making you wet if you got too close.

The first real stop I made on my trip to New Zealand was the town of Queenstown, on the southern end of the South Island.  It’s located on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, and is the home of many adventure travel tours!  Even though we were there in “summer” (early December), we still managed to freeze our butts off, and it was super windy virtually the whole time!  I know I’m from California, and I’m unused to cold weather… but… come on, when I’m promised summer — I don’t expect ICE and 37 degree (F) mornings!

(This post brought to you by the horrifying -20 degrees F my relatives are complaining about in the midwest…poor midwest!)

One day trip we took was to a sheep station and demonstration farm (Walter Peak) by way of antique steamship!  Real Journeys has a variety of excursions in the area — we took the TSS Earnslaw (twin screw steamer) and chugged across the lake to deposit us at the farm.  That was insanely windy too. ;D  The ship had a resident piano player for singalongs, and aside from the expected sheep demonstrations, I got to pet a highland cow!  They’re unexpectedly slobbery.

(More detailed posts about New Zealand are forthcoming…this was meant to be a picture post, but I couldn’t help myself. :P )

Leave a Reply

