Billy Hill and the Hillbillies, or… All I Wanted For Christmas

I’m a Disneyland nut.  I’ll just put that out there.  So when I heard a few months ago  that a certain musical act from Disneyland was going away at the end of the holiday season, I went on a tiny panic.

Billy Hill and the Hillbillies — they have played at Disneyland for 20 years, mostly in the Golden Horseshoe.  They mostly play bluegrass and folk music, though on occasion they would do heavy metal in bluegrass style… ;D  Lots of jokes interspersed.

So when I heard that January 5 would be their last show, I was sad and wanted to go visit to see their show one last time.  (I heard today’s shows were great, and they were packed!)  Now, despite living in Southern California… I don’t have an annual pass.  I wish I did!

I got very lucky though — a former professor of mine just happened to send out a mass email to my old department email list, and asked “Does anyone want to go to Disneyland on December 23 or 24? We have two extra tickets!”  … … … DO I?!  YES!  I hemmed and hawed, thinking “well, it’s been three hours since she emailed, I’m sure they’re snapped up already.”  … … … Then I said what the hell, and emailed her anyway.  I was the first person to respond, so we got them!  YES!

IMG_6061

My mom and I first went when I was in junior high, and we LOVED the show and its ridiculous humor.  See, they’re “all” named Billy.  “My name is Billy Hill, and this here is my brother Billy.  And my other brother Billy.  And this is Billy.”   Then he would eventually bring out his “pros-teeth-us” to help him get into the country music mood.

IMG_6069

Ahh.  I guess you have to grow up with it… hahah.  I’m going to miss them.  The fiddle and banjo renditions of holiday songs were a great last memory!  I’m a big sucker for nostalgia and memory, so Disneyland feeds right into that with their love of anything retro and constant anniversary of this or that.

Anyone have any favorite shows or attractions that don’t exist anymore, but still hold a place in your heart?

I don’t think the castles are going away any time soon, but lit up at night, they just look amazing.  Ahhh!  Swoon.

3 thoughts on “Billy Hill and the Hillbillies, or… All I Wanted For Christmas

  1. Do they still have the Ab Lincoln theatre thingy? I remember it as a kid. Honestly, it kind of creeped me out, but at the same time I respected it.

    My favourite Disney attraction probably left before you were born: The Shrinking Machine. I got such a kick out of that. I’d ride over and over and over, always the first stop on my visits.

    • Yes, they do! I only saw it for the first time about 3 years ago. They updated the animatronics slightly, but it’s still uh…interesting. A little creepy. But a good attraction nonetheless! The most disappointing addition to the Opera House (where Lincoln is) is the wall of famed musicians — it now includes Miley Cyrus. lol.

      What! Ack! I thought I was pretty well-versed in the old rides, but I’ve never heard of that one… you don’t mean the Honey I Shrunk the Audience show though… doing a little bit of googling, is it the one with a microscope and you turn into water or something? Apparently that closed in 1986, so I was narrowly born before that but definitely can’t claim I ever went on it. XD Hahaha.

      You know what I miss — the sky buckets! I only went on a few times, it’s been closed 20 years, but it was so fun to go through the Matterhorn! Another reason I wanted to go this December was that they’re finally tearing down the old ride loading platform in Fantasyland. =\ Alas!

      Glad you’ve got some good memories from DL! :D

      • And new ones from Tokyo Disneyland and Disney Sea. :-)

        The shrinking machine was really cool as a kid. Hokey, but fun. It thad the same kind of chairs as the Haunted Mansion and a similar approach in telling a story as you shrunk past the subatomic level.

Leave a Reply

